Questions to Local Election candidates

This year’s Local Elections are on THURSDAY 5th MAY 2022 (don’t forget to cast your vote!). To find out where to vote and who the candidates are go to Where Do I Vote. 

We have asked the candidates for Basingstoke & Deane Borough Council seats to answer these questions:

  1. What do you see as the most pressing climate and biodiversity issue/s facing Basingstoke and Deane at present?
  2. If you had the authority of the Council Leader, what would you do to urgently address any such problems you perceive?
  3. In the absence of being Council Leader, in which way would you seek to apply pressure to the local decision-makers?

We have had answers so far:



Candidate (link to replies)


Green Jonathan Jenkin

Hatch Warren & Beggarwood

B&D Independents


Julian Jones

Tom Cusack

Norden B&D Independents Paul Basham
Sherborne St. John & Rooksdown Labour Bradley Phillips

Tadley North, Baughurst and Kingsclere

Liberal Democrat Kerry Morrow

Whitchurch, Overton & Laverstoke

B&D Independents

B&D Independents

Chloe Ashfield

Steve Williams

Winklebury & Manydown Labour Alex Lee